asamisimasa was formed in Oslo in 2001, focusing on music by composers such as Helmut Lachenmann and Brian Ferneyhough. Since 2003, further members have been included in the ensemble, and today it consists of Janne Berglund (soprano), Rolf Borch (clarinet), Håkon Mørch Stene (percussion), Anders Førisdal (guitar), Ellen Ugelvik (piano) and Tanja Orning (cello).
asamisimasa combines performances of the classical repertoire and post-war avant-garde with new pieces especially written for them, also including electronics, video or other media.